In Exodus, we witness amongst others:

·         An institution of the Passover (12: 1-28) as an annual observance to remind future generations of the miraculous deliverance from Egypt.        

·         An institution of the Covenant between God and Israel to establish relationship in which Israel was identified as holy nation.

·         A provision of the Decalogue (i.e. the Ten Commandments), priesthood, and tabernacle to guide Israel to reflect in their pattern of living that they were God’s people.

Despite God’s continual evidence of love and power, the people continued to complain and yearn for their days in Egypt. God provided for their physical and spiritual needs with food and a place to worship; and also judged their disobedience in the process. Then at Sinai, God met Moses to give him his laws for the right living.

The book may be divided into the following three main sections:


1. Israel in Egypt (1: 1 to 12: 36)

·         Multiplication of Israel and their sufferings;.

·         The birth, preparation and commissioning of Moses;

·         The ministry of Moses and Aaron to Israel and to Pharaoh; and

·         The ten plagues on the Egyptians – climaxed by the Passover Lamb and the death of

·         the “firstborns.”


2. The Journey to Sinai (12: 37 to 19: 2)

·         The flight of Israel from Egypt;

·         The importance of the Passover and the consecration of the firstborn;

·         The destruction of Pharaoh’s army;

·         The song of Moses and Miriam;

·         The waters of Marah;

·         The miracle of the quails and manna;

·         The waters of Massah and Meribah;

·         The war with the Amalek; and

·         The Counsel of Jethro.


3. Israel at Sinai (19: 3 to 40: 38)

·         Jehovah’s manifestation at Sinai;

·         The Ten Commandments;

·         The Civil Law;

·         Instructions for building the Tabernacle and its Furniture and for making the priests’ garments;

·         Sacrifices for the consecration of Aaron and his sons;

·         The episode of the golden calf;

·         The renewing of the two tablets;

·         The shining of Moses’ face;

·         The construction of the Tabernacle; and

·         The filling of the Tabernacle with the glory of God.