One of the important subjects in Exodus is the plan for the tabernacle.

The tabernacle was important because it was the place of worship and sacrifice for Israel, but the tabernacle was also a spiritual type. This means that each part of the tabernacle was symbolic of a greater spiritual truth.

The courtyard around the tabernacle. It is a symbol of the world.

The altar of burnt offering. Sacrifices were burned here which symbolized the sacrifice of Jesus for the sins of the world.

The laver was a large basin where the priests washed their hands and feet before going into the Holy Place. It is a symbol of Christian baptism.

The Holy Place, It symbolizes the church separated from the world (the court) and entered by way of Christ’s sacrifice (the altar) and baptism (the laver).

The table of shewbread is a symbol of the Lord’s Supper (or communion, as it is called in some denominations).

The candlestick provided light for the Holy Place. It is a symbol of God’s Word.

The altar of incense was the place where incense was burned. The sweet smelling smoke ascended to God as a symbol of the prayers of His people. The veil was a curtain between the Holy Place and the Most Holy Place. It symbolized the separation between God and man.

The Most Holy Place. It was a perfect cube shape and is a symbol of heaven. It was the dwelling place of God’s presence.

The Ark of the Covenant was a wooden chest covered with gold. It had a lid decorated with two golden cherubim. The ark contained the Ten Commandments which symbolized God’s government, a dish of manna which recalled God’s provision, and Aaron’s rod which was a reminder of God’s power among His people. Once a year the high priest sprinkled the top of the ark with blood which was a symbol of Christ’s blood by which we are cleansed from sin.

The Tabernacle

1. The court yard.

2. The altar of burnt offering.

3. The laver.

4. The Holy Place.

5. The table of shewbread.

6. The candlestick.

7. The altar of incense.

8. The veil between the Holy Place and the Most Holy Place. 9. The Most Holy Place.

10. The Ark of the Covenant.